top of page

Shop Hops are Killing Me!


Well, thankfully, that's not quite true. But on March 27 I was cruising west on a 4 lane road from Overland Park to DeSoto, KS --so from one quilt shop to another one, when I came over the crest of a hill to a car stopped for a left hand turn. I just did not get stopped in time and thus, my adored little turquoise PT Cruiser has bit the dust! Me, too! I hit the steering wheel with my sternum, despite being seat belted in--air bags did not deploy. Of course everyone is saying why not? But as it was described to me, the physics of the crash meant that my airbag sensors slid under the backend of the older Volvo tank I hit, and thus did not deploy. So I got my first ever trip(and hopefully last) in an ambulance and have a fractured sternum. Oh, I also smashed my newest replacement knee into the dash. To those of you that have never broken ribs or fractured a sternum, ALL movement hurts like hell! And I'm BORED! It has kept me from much piecing and totally off the long arm. (it also has left me sleeping in a recliner cause I can't lay flat without pain).

So today I purchased a replacement vehicle--a Chevy Equinox. I'm excited for that as I'd been driving (what driving I'd done) our high clearance 4x4 pick-up and it drives like, well, a truck! Plus I was using a step stool to climb in! Pretty embarassing. Tomorrow I'm reconnecting with quilting and quilting buddies--running by a Guild workshop to pick up some stuff and then selling tickets to the Guild raffle quilt at the Lil Red Hen during the Heartland Shop Hop. But no "hopping" for me!

In the meantime, enjoy this wedding gift I had just pulled from the long arm prior to the crash. It's for my nephew who lives in Redondo Beach, CA. I wanted something that would always remind them of the beach, as it's played an important role in their courtship. While the design was not complex, I did want it and the quilting to represent a Pacific sunset. Enjoy!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page