top of page

Who else is using orange in the bobbin??

This darn pandemic! Like many of you, I did the "face mask factory" in March, using up approximately 12 yards of "scraps", all my elastic (quickly) and all my bias tape and then started using strips off t-shirts for the ties. I was go glad to stop the face mask production (although still making a few for family) as it played havoc with my mental health. In the process zipped through all the dark and light threads in my stash.

I then got to work on both projects that had been planned long ago and some new ones, too. Since I was "cocooning" at home (isn't that a much better phrase instead of social or physical distancing? I borrowed it from the Irish), I've been trying to use my stash. I know some quilters are hesitant to dig into their stash, worried that they may need that special fabric later for the perfect project. But I'm thinking differently--sooner or later we'll all get vaccines for CoVid and participate in a shop hop and I'm going to melt my credit cards when that day happens! All new fabrics! Woohoo!!

But I have run into a bit of a challenge--thread! Since I'm not out shopping, I have stitched through ALL my dark & light neutral threads for piecing. Now, I could dip into my threads for long arming--but that would be like others dipping into their stash--I might need it later! So while working on a string quilt (trying to clear out that stash so there is room for new!) I've resorted to using whatever bobbins I already had wound--burgundy, yellow and now, orange! While it works, I can't help thinking--it's only early June and HOW long until a vaccine?? Next up,

online shopping for thread!

In the meantime, enjoy this recently finished quilt!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page