top of page

Just finished our Guild's "Drag N'Brag" show


The Miami Co Quilters Guild (KS) has existed since the late 1980's and has had an annual show since the mid-1990's. This past weekend was our 2016 show and there were over 200 quilts of all sizes displayed. And of course enough vendors that I ended up spending more than I should have!

In recent years we've added a mini quilt class and that is always mesmerizing for those of us that can't imagine sewing so SMALL! Another trend I'm seeing in the last 2 years is more and more art type quilts--which may mean a new category for our show as we've always lumped them in with lap quilts due to approximate size. And speaking of size--we continue to see some really big, super King size quilts! Last year we seemed to see a larger number of applique quilts, but this year there were few applique only and more that were mixed piecing and applique.

One good thing about the annual show is that it forces me to do 2 things--finish up some quilts of my own and reflect on what quilting work I've done this past year. So I finished a quilt that I started 6 years ago when my son was still living at home--wow, have I learned a lot about both piecing and quilting since then! And I realized that this year I've made--from cutting to binding--10 quilts! Think in 2017 I will force myself to slow down some and maybe do a better job??! In the meantime, here's a pic of that quilt that it took 6 years to make (and all HST).


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page