top of page

Super ideas for quilting!


My husband & I just returned from a train trip to Washington,D.C. I had never been there and my husband's only memory from a trip when he was 6 years old was of his aunt's backyard! We haven't traveled much by train, and never before on a sleeper car--so what an adventure! (thankfully there are no pictures of me climbing into or out of the top bunk!)

While we didn't get to any quilt shops (had hoped to get to Jinny Beyer's) and saw only 3 quilts in museums there, I did see and photograph TONS of wonderful quilting ideas from all the amazing tile and ceiling molding work. Wow! Think our favorite was the Library of Congress. But every single building had something that could be translated into a quilting design. So now to download the pictures (yes, I was the tourist taking pictures of the floor and the ceiling!) and start drawing.

My drawings will need to wait--this next week will be a full scale "charge" to get one of my own quilts quilted and bound, and a hanging sleeve on it and a number of others that will be entered this coming Friday in the Miami County Quilters Guild annual "Drag N'Brag" show. In the meantime, here's a pic of one of those inspiring buildings--only wish I had a way to translate the inspiration and awe that struck me when I viewed the Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, etc. P.S. this is a drapery tie back from the White House!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page