top of page

WooHoo--FINALLY new wheels!

Bet you thought I was going to tell you all about a new car! Nope--new wheels on my long arm machine! Not only are they slick(always good on a long arm!) but they are ON! This has been quite the ordeal. I noticed after a thorough cleaning and some maintenance on my Gammill in early October that the front wheels on the carriage frame were literally separating from the hub! Yikes--definitely not good; lots of vibrations and felt like I was hauling it around the quilt. So I did some research on the web and decided on an aftermarket brand that looked great--I mean the one side of the machine literally would have "racing slicks" for wheels--what more could you ask for!. I ordered them and then settled back to enjoy the g-boys' visit, expecting that either right before or right after I got back from my quilt retreat, the wheels would be here and ready to install.

But NO! Apparently the company is basically defunct--but don't really admit it. I had a customer quilt waiting, plus several of my own Christmas items. So I ordered 2 of the old type wheels from a Gammill dealer and kept waiting. After 3+ weeks of emails, calls and texts, and even more research on the company, I canceled the order (thank you, Master Card for helping with the refusal of the charge)and ordered EdgeRider wheels. Got them 2 days ago and after more work than I'd hoped, installed today.

They really glide along the track. Not sure if they are better than the originals, but better than what the originals had been doing for a while now! No more vibration or tugging the machine around. Yea! Moral of this story---if your machine or equipment is fighting you--check it out and repair/replace. AND be sure to read not only the reviews about product--but also about customer service!

This is the Miami Co. Quilters Guild 2017 Opportunity Raffle quilt that I helped piece and did the quilting on--it's double batted (Hobbs 80/20 and a washable wool) and YUGE! All the flowers were appliqued on the long arm--I pasted the with washable glue to hold in place while on the frame.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page