top of page

Reviews are in....


The practice piece in my last post has been critiqued now by a close friend that has entered quilts into juried shows and by the machine quilters guild to which I belong. While the reviews are generally good on the design concept and the execution, we all agree that a few things need to be "fixed" before I am ready to enter this into the KC Regional Quilt Fest.

I had planned on using RJR Radiance fabric in an ivory color. This is a cotton/silk blend and lovely fabric--but it seems rather thin. Makes me nervous with the idea of binding and certainly not very "unsewing" friendly. So tonight I ordered yardage of both while and cream RJR Superluxe Poplin--a 100% cotton that is reputed to be very compatible with batiks--so a tighter weave. While it won't have the satiny sheen, I'm hoping it will be better suited.

I ordered both colors because the 2nd critique issue is that the yellow and lighter orange (SoFine #50 Butte-e-ful")are not very visible. We all agreed that the stark white washed the lighter colors out and an off-white would prevent that. Plus I will need to quilt a tighter, more dense pattern.

My friend, Kathy, suggested that I also focus on using more organic, flowing quilting and, the best idea, do not outline the globe with a dark line. Instead, she suggested a white outline to help me keep the quilting symmetrical, but also it will allow the color to "flow" better from the globe to the outside color "rays". And that means I won't put;any little motifs like stars on the globe either--which I knew immediately must go!

While waiting for this new fabric order, I'll continue (hopefully I'll pick up my productivity!) work on my Ricky Tims Kool Kaleidascope quilt--templates are prepared and fabric strips cut. And in 10 days when my hubbie gets a new knee, I'll be finishing the binding on the 3 memory quilts for a customer.

Keep Quilting!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page