top of page

Lots of waiting....

So, I'm still plugging away on my competition quilt for the KCRQF Display Challenge using the Ricky Tims Kaleidoscopes on black. Besides switching out almost all the fabrics I originally bought for batiks for the kaleidoscopes, I also ended up with not enough black for the background. You know how hard it is to match blacks, right? Knew it would bother me if they didn't match, so I purchased all new black and re-did the "wedges & butts" already done and then started piecing together the rest of the background. Anyone that thinks modern quilts have it easy with large spaces of fabric--think again! Getting this to fit was causing me fits! But it's together and waiting...first for the arrival of the black poly bat from Keepsake that I plan to put onto of the Hobbs 80/20 black, then I decided a plain black wideback was needed, so a trip to the city. And now I wait--for some Microthread cones and prewound Bottomline bobbins from Superior! Hopefully tomorrow I'll get started on marking the quilting.

In the meantime, I was able to work on car seat tote bags for the Miami Co. Quilters Guild vendor booth at KCRQF and quilted this mini for Nancy C--she does such perfect piecing and these blocks are 4" sq--so wanted to stay off the amazing paper piecing and just have the quilting make the piecing pop. So here are pictures of both quilts.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page