top of page

Quilting that Kool Kaleidoscope Quilt!

FINALLY it's on the frame! I've managed to quilt about half the quilt--so far 20 hrs invested in quilting and design. Must say that I'm really enjoying the new Superior Thread Micro-thread! Using it for the black background. It's a 100# poly thread. So fine that I was initially worried it would be weak--so I took a piece and tried to break it--basically couldn't get it done! I'm using pre-wound black SoFine in the bobbin. For the colored threads I'm using SoFine with matching SoFine in the bobbin.

I had been stalling on how to quilt the kaleidoscope medallions because I had NO idea what to do. I finally decided I just had to buckle down and get r'done! So using tracing paper, I outlined the largest one. Next using a picture of the medallion, I colored in the sections just like the kaleidoscope. Then I overlaid Saran Press N' Seal (yeah, I know--that stuff that I was cursing in previous posts!) and using my dry-erase pen, started drawing. Because there are so many pieces in the kaleidoscope, I did not just want to stitch-in-the-ditch or do continuous curves but wanted it to look like stacked kaleidoscopes to give it dimension. Using a silver Bottom Line thread in top and bobbin, I got started. A little over half way through the kaleidoscope. Haven't touched the other 4 kaleidoscopes, but not nearly as intimidated about them.

One thing I was worried about has happened--the density of the quilting has shrunk the quilt about 2 inches (I had allowed only about 3/4" extra) so this quilt will be getting a very narrow border!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page