top of page

Pre-fused, laser cut

I have never attempted a pre-fused, laser cut kit before, but I'm sure glad I did with this! I saw this kit in the Keepsake Quilting catalog this past fall and both my husband & I agreed that it would be perfect as a wall hanging for our son and daughter-in-law. They have 3 sons and these cute raccoons just reminded us of them.

My friend that owns the local quilt shop, Lil Red Hen Quilt Shop, said she could order the kit for me but that it would not be laser cut. she grinned and basically said I needed to order it from Keepsake cause I would be sorry if I didn't. How is that for service?

Well, she was right! (plus she's knows I'm not a big applique fan as I don't have the patience for all the prep) It took me about 2 hours to snip all the little tabs that held the pre-cuts to the fused fabric. I put them in baggies and wrote the pattern letter & number just like they said--the pattern and directions were very well written. It has you build up your applique on a pressing sheet and once you have the main part together (the faces) then to transfer to the background. Tip: do build up the applique in the numerical order instead of trying to just look at the picture! It goes quicker!

While this project did not get completed in time for Christmas as intended, it did get done in time for my son's first home purchase and move. A picture with all the quilting on it will need to wait until next visit to Omaha to see them--but it's up on a wall and they love that I quilted in each boys' name and birth year around the "knot hole". and I definitely would do another one of these complex wall

hangings--as long as it's pre-fused and laser cut!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page